BBC announces line up for Radio 1’s Big Weekend

With the Radio 1’s Big Weekend in Earlham Park drawing closer, the BBC have announced full details of the acts performing.

The line-up was revealed by Scott Mills on the Radio 1 Breakfast Show on Monday 20th April, and with tickets for the event selling out in 40 minutes, it was much anticipated.

It was confirmed in January that Radio 1’s Big Weekend would be coming to Norwich; taking place in Earlham Park on Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th of May. Taylor Swift was confirmed as a performer alongside this announcement, with Florence + the Machine and BBC Introducing act Context – who are originally from Norwich – having joined the Big Weekend over the past few months.

Monday’s announcement completed this much coveted line-up, and the acts are as follows:

Saturday will see Devon-born trio Muse headline the main stage, with The Vaccines, Florence + the Machine, Fall Out Boy, David Guetta, Charli XCX, Ben Howard, and 5 Seconds of Summer performing throughout the day.

The In New Music We Trust stage is to be headlined by Circa Waves, preceded by Ella Eyre, Hozier, Jess Glynne, Mallory Knox, Slaves, Snoop Dogg, Years & Years, and Rudimental.

Norwich-born act Context is also set to play the BBC Introducing stage on the Saturday.
Sunday will be headlined by American rockers Foo Fighters, with performances from Taylor Swift, Sam Smith, Rita Ora, Olly Murs, Imagine Dragons, George Ezra, and Clean Bandit on the Big Weekend’s main stage.

Alt-J are to top the bill on the In New Music We Trust stage, following Catfish & the Bottlemen, James Bay, Jungle, Lower Than Atlantis, Raury, Sigma, SOAK, and Jamie T.

For those who were unsuccessful in getting tickets, the students’ union has announced they will be streaming the whole event for students in the LCR to ensure an enjoyable weekend for all.


Main stage
>> Muse
>> Florence + The Machine
>> 5 Seconds of Summer
>> David Guetta
>> Ben Howard
>> The Vaccines
>> Fall Out Boy
>> Charli XCX

In New Music We Trust stage
>> Snoop Dogg
>> Rudimental
>> Jess Glynne
>> Hozier
>> Years & Years
>> Ella Eyre
>> Slaves
>> Mallory Knox
>> Circa Waves


Main stage
>> Foo Fighters
>> Taylor Swift
>> Sam Smith
>> Rita Ora
>> George Ezra
>> Clean Bandit
>> Olly Murs
>> Imagine Dragons

In New Music We Trust stage
>> Jamie T
>> Alt-J
>> Sigma
>> Catfish and the Bottlemen
>> Jungle
>> James Bay
>> Raury
>> Lower Than Atlantis


About Author